Industry News

Board members appointed to NHVR

The NHVR has announced the appointment of a new board member, along with details of its reappointed members.

Patrick Conlon has been appointed to the National Heavy Vehicle Regulator (NHVR) board, after ministers unanimously agreed on his appointment, which fills the vacant position created after the resignation of Ken Lay in June.

Conlon brings vast transport and infrastructure experience to the role.

“Mr Conlon has a distinguished career in the South Australian Government, holding a number of ministerial portfolios, including transport and infrastructure,” said Federal Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government Catherine King.

“During his 10 years as transport minister he was a strong advocate for national consistency in heavy vehicle regulation and worked together with then Federal Transport Minister Anthony Albanese to advance that agenda.”

Deputy chairperson Julie Russell and fellow board member Catherine Scott have been re-appointed for a second term.

“Ms Russell’s commitment to the heavy vehicle transport industry is evident through her roles as a current board member and past presidency of the Queensland Trucking Association, and as board member and chair of the Skills and Workforce Committee of the Australian Trucking Association,” said Queensland Minister for Transport and Main Roads Mark Bailey.

“She has worked both within her family business and in large multinational corporations across roles in risk and compliance, human resources, industrial relations, technology and strategic planning.”

Bailey continued, “Ms Scott has held directorships across a portfolio of organisations in transport, water, education and natural resources, and has a strong commitment to road safety, as shown by her appointment in 2020 as a commissioner of the Australian Transport Safety Bureau.”

Duncan Gay will also continue on as NHVR board chairperson until October 2024, as will board member Robin Stewart-Crompton.

Board members are appointed for a period of three years.


The post Board members appointed to NHVR appeared first on Big Rigs.

  1. Australian Truck Radio Listen Live
Send this to a friend