Industry News

Qube, Mondiale, DHL execs among members appointed to advisory council

Fifteen members have been appointed to the new NSW Freight Transport Advisory Council (FTAC), to be chaired by Duncan Gay.

Minister for Regional Transport and Roads Sam Farraway congratulated the inaugural members and the incoming chair on their recent appointment.

“Appointing Duncan as Chair to the new body will give the group a wealth of experience when interacting with Government and understanding policy,” said Farraway.

“The new appointees come from a wide cross-section of industry, including road and rail bodies, intermodal operators, port representatives, couriers, retailers and producers,” he said.

“The new body will not only discuss freight and supply chain issues, but provide input into government strategies, policies and projects.

“The wealth of industry leadership and experience on the council will mean better outcomes for the freight sector, which is expected to increase by 28 per cent to see 618 million tonnes moving across our state by 2036.”

The new council replaces the Freight and Logistics Advisory Council and the Road Freight Industry Council to represent the entire freight chain across different transport modes as a single council.

Gay welcomed his appointment in a statement.

“I am honoured to be appointed as inaugural chair and look forward to giving the entire freight industry a united voice that will help inform NSW Government policy as freight demand continues to rise,” he said.

Among the new appointees are several prominent members of the road transport and logistics executive class including Geoff Crouch, Executive Director Ron Crouch Transport, Craig Carmody, Port of Newcastle, Rick Dani, Woolworths Group, Paul Digney, Qube, Brad Williams, Australian Logistics Council, Austin Vella, Road Freight NSW, Scott Walker, Mondiale VGL, Paul Pulver, Livestock Bulk and Rural Carriers Association (LBRCA), Leslie Logue, DHL, Michael Gallacher, Ports Australia, Allan Neil Johns, Naomi Cotton, Warren Clark, National Road Transport Association.

The new Council will meet four times a year, with the first meeting to be held in June.

New appointees will remain on the Council for a term of two years.

  1. Australian Truck Radio Listen Live
Send this to a friend